You are here:


UdelaR - Universidad de la República


Facultad de Química (School of Chemistry) belongs to the UdelaR. It counts with 350 staff members and more than 3000 students. Their Faculty members publish 20% of the total articles in Uruguay. Since 2006, the Dean of the School of Chemistry is Dr. Eduardo Manta.


The Pando Technology Pole (Polo Tecnológico de Pando), PTP, was created by the School of Chemistry in 2001. It is an initiative with the aim of a strong interaction between the School and the companies (large ones and SMEs). It is located at Pando, 32 km from Montevideo, and has been funded by the European Union, through the European Delegation. More than 50 persons work at PTP in the following Areas: Biopharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology, Biotechnology, Fine Chemicals, Food Technology, Nanotechnology and Materials (NanoMat Centre), all of them supported by the Advanced Analytical Service. The first Director of PTP was Dr. Alberto Nieto (2001-2007). Since 2007, the Director of PTP is Dr. Álvaro W. Mombrú, who is the Director of the NanoMat Centre as well (Structure of Matter Department), and the coordinator in Uruguay of this proposal.


The mission of the NanoMat Centre is to carry out research aimed at obtaining and characterizing materials and nanomaterials of industrial interest.


Persons involved in EULASUR

Professor Dr. Alvaro Mombrú, coordinator and head of laboratory, e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Assistant Professor Dr. Helena Pardo, nanomaterials synthesis, ceramics

Assistant Professor Dr. Ricardo Faccio, nanomaterials simulations, polymers, devices

Associate Professor Dr. Leopoldo Suescun, structural characterization